Race for Life

Aw nuts. I just entered a 5k run for Race for Life. Why would I do that? I hate running. In fact, if we’re being brutally honest, I’m not a fan of physical effort at all.

*EDIT* Please sponsor me and my team to help beat cancer! http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/twls

I’ve always been sporty (yes, I know, direct contradiction) but the last two years has seen me settle into an office job, a two hour car commute from my stair-free flat and a horror of getting cold and wet.

(To be fair, I’ve always had a horror of getting cold and wet. My mother is constantly saying I should have been born into a Mediterranean climate).

To be sure, going outside in England, at any time of year, there is a 94% chance that you will end up;
a) Cold
b) Wet
c) Both the above.

(Stats not formally validated. Ahem).

Thus, with my aversion to the native weather preventing me from voluntarily going outside, physical activity of the type which gets your heart racing for about 30 minutes a day has been a tricky goal to attain. Luckily, my office has four flights of stairs.

Add to this my lack of, shall we say, ‘movement’, in recent months and the prospect of an enforced bout of exercise filled me with dread. Then I started thinking. Really, how bad could it be? Even if it was awful, it would only last an hour or two. I’m not that unfit. Really, I’m not.

So, when I logged onto Facebook earlier, I was apprehended by my boyfriend’s mother inquiring if I would be interested in pledging my running feet, and by way of necessity, my legs, torso, arms and head, to the cause of Beating Cancer. Who can say no to that?

And anyway. It’s only 5k.*

*I believe this falls under the category of famous last words?

*EDIT* Please sponsor me and my team to help beat cancer! http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/twls

Leave a Reply

